TEXAS DEPARTMENT OF LICENSING AND REGULATION SETS MAXIMUM PRIVATE PROPERTY TOWING FEES

Last legislative session, the legislature adopted H.B. 2571. That bill provides that a city may regulate the fees that are charged for private property tows. However, the fee cannot exceed the maximum amount allowable by rule promulgated by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). In August 2010, TDLR adopted a rule that sets the maximum fee a towing company can charge for a private property tow. Under the new rule, the fee charged by a towing company cannot exceed $250 for a “light duty tow,” $350 for a “medium duty tow,” or $450 per unit or a maximum of $900 for a “heavy duty tow.”

The new rules relating to private property towing fees can be found in the August 27, 2010, edition of the Texas Register.

TML member cities may use the material herein for any purpose.
No other person or entity may reproduce, duplicate, or distribute any part of this document without the written authorization of the
Texas Municipal League.

Back to Legislative Update Index