October 6, 2017, Number 39

Download the full October 6, 2017, Number 39 (PDF).

TML Names Legislators of the Year

The Texas Municipal League is recognizing four state legislators for their outstanding efforts to empower Texans to make decisions affecting their communities at the local level.  The awards were announced at the TML Annual Conference and Exhibition in Houston this week.

TML’s “Legislator of the Year” awards for 2017 go to:  Sen. Jose Menendez (D- San Antonio), Rep. Diego Bernal (D- San Antonio), Rep. Jim Murphy (R- Houston), and Rep. Drew Springer (R- Muenster).

Sen. Menendez represents Senate District 26 which includes San Antonio, Leon Valley, Converse, and Balcones Heights.  Throughout the regular and special legislative sessions, Sen. Menendez was a staunch defender of preserving city annexation authority for the protection of military bases in Texas.

Rep. Bernal represents House District 123, which includes San Antonio, Castle Hills, and Balcones Heights.  As a member of the House Urban Affairs Committee, Rep. Bernal spoke out against legislative efforts to preempt local decisions.

Rep. Murphy represents House District 133, which includes a portion of Houston, Bunker Hill Village, Hedwig Village, and Hunters Creek Village.  Rep. Murphy was instrumental in the passage H.B. 1111 which allows cities to regulate sex offender residency requirements.

Rep. Springer represents House District 68 that covers 22 counties and over 50 cities, which include Gainesville, Graham, Childress, Vernon, Bowie, and Muenster.  He filed legislation to clarify the authority of general law cities to enact sex offender residency restrictions.

City officials can be grateful to these legislators for recognizing that every Texas city is proudly unique and every community should have the ability to respond to the needs of its citizens.

TML member cities may use the material herein for any purpose. No other person or entity may reproduce, duplicate, or distribute any part of this document without the written authorization of the Texas Municipal League.