City Officials Testify

When the legislature is in session, nothing compares to the effectiveness of city officials testifying at the Capitol. City officials who take their time to travel to Austin to speak out on important city issues should be applauded by us all.  Among the city officials who recently testified in front of legislative committees are the following:

    • Lee Leffingwell, Mayor, Austin
    • Will Pursley, Police Department, Austin
    • Brandy Callahan, City Council, Borger
    • Matthew Marchant, Mayor, Carrollton
    • Jack Gilbert, Chief of Police, Combine
    • Barbara McBurney, Municipal Judge, Combine
    • Sylvia Borunda Firth, City Attorney, El Paso
    • Charlie McNabb, City Attorney, El Paso
    • Charles Cox, Director of Finance and Human Resources, Farmers Branch
    • Kent Sharp, Director of Economic Development, Gainesville
    • Tim Crow, Police Chief, Gonzales
    • Matt Amerman, City Council, Hollywood Park
    • Sam Fugate, Mayor, Kingsville
    • R. Neil Ferguson, City Council, Lewisville
    • Loyd Wayne Bullock, Police Department, Lubbock
    • Keith Stretcher, City Attorney, Midland
    • Michel Bechtel, Mayor Pro Tem, Morgan’s Point
    • Thomas Adams, City Manager, Pilot Point
    • Ed Drain, Police Department, Plano
    • Steve Norwood, City Manager, Round Rock
    • Stephan Sheets, City Attorney, Round Rock
    • Carlos Contreras, Assistant City Manager, San Antonio
    • James Jones, Police Department Sergeant, San Antonio
    • David Stall, City Administrator, Shoreacres


TML member cities may use the material herein for any purpose. No other person or entity may reproduce, duplicate, or distribute any part of this document without the written authorization of the Texas Municipal League.

Back to Legislative Update Index