Representative Allan Ritter (R – Nederland)     Senator Troy Fraser (R - Horseshoe Bay)

Representative Allan Ritter (R – Nederland, above left) and Senator Troy Fraser (R – Horseshoe Bay, above right) are the TML Legislators of the Month for January 2013.  Representative Ritter represents House District 21, which includes Port Arthur, Port Neches, Groves, Nederland, Orange, and Vidor.  Senator Fraser represents Senate District 24, which includes Abilene, Brownwood, Belton, Fredericksburg, Killeen, Kerrville, Marble Falls, and Temple.

First elected to the Texas House in 1998, Representative Ritter currently chairs the House Natural Resources Committee and serves on the House Committees on Ways and Means and Calendars.

Representative Ritter has filed H.B. 4 and H.B. 11.  Those bills would make a one-time appropriation of $2 billion from the state’s Economic Stabilization Fund (otherwise known as the Rainy Day Fund) to capitalize a new dedicated revolving fund for use in financing water projects in the State Water Plan.

Senator Fraser was first elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 1987, where he served three terms before being elected to the Texas Senate in 1996.  Senator Fraser serves as the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Natural Resources and sits on the Senate Committees on Economic Development and State Affairs.

Senator Fraser has filed S.B. 4.  That bill would create the State Water Implementation Fund of Texas (SWIFT) to provide a revolving fund to finance projects in the State Water Plan.  He has also filed S.B. 22, which would make a one-time allocation of $2 billion from the state’s Rainy Day Fund to finance water projects.

We hope that city leaders across Texas, and particularly those in Representative Ritter’s and Senator Fraser’s districts, will express their appreciation to these outstanding leaders.

TML member cities may use the material herein for any purpose.
No other person or entity may reproduce, duplicate, or distribute any part of this document without the written authorization of the
Texas Municipal League.

Back to Legislative Update Index